In 1926, Hotel Goetz was sold to Henry Fischer and renamed the Fischer Hotel. In the early 1940’s, the hotel was again sold, this time to the McNiven family. The Zehnder family bought the building in 1963, remodeled it, and renamed the business Tiffany Biergarten.
Tiffany Biergarten got its name and much of its charm from the sixteen Tiffany Chandeliers whose color and design sparkle against the background of an ornate gold ceiling. Aside from the chandeliers, the Tiffany Biergarten contained other unique and one of a kind stained glass window panels.
The bar also contains the original tile floor tile and a spitting trough below the bar. The famous running water floor cuspidor, a tiled gutter running the full length of the bar and flushed by a steady flow of water from either end, was designed by Mr. Goetz. This is one example of how Mr. Goetz was accommodating to his tobacco chewing customers.
In 1988, Russ Baker purchased the business, installed food service and renamed it Tiffany’s.